Mom’s Nature Journal Parsley

Spring has arrived in the Klein Karoo, and I have been really busy gardening.  The garden shows signs daily that a new season is unfolding.  While planting out seedlings and pulling out spent winter vegetable plants, I noticed a few of my parsley plants had started to go to seed.  I cut them back and took the cuttings to dry over my AGA stove.

With one lush branch of parsley in hand, I sat down to create a new Mom’s nature journal entry ~

I decided to create a double-page spread and made the left page a more personal page with a leaf rubbing and my garden observations, while I used Wikipedia to create a more formal botanical parsley study on the right-side page.  I also researched the difference between chervil and parsley!  They are both from the same family with very similar leaf and flower shapes, but the seeds differ.  Now, I know!

You will also notice in the photos, that I have both my sketchbook and nature journal lying out on my desk. I hope that this will prompt me to spend a little time every day on a quick sketch or painting or nature journal entry.  It is true that I have just one teen to homeschool at this time, and because she is working very independently, I have more time at my desk to sketch and journal.  It is a wonderful season in my homeschooling journey.

Again I urge moms to join their kiddies with these simple nature journal moments.  It is wonderful to learn and create your own Mom’s nature journal.  Join Barb’s  Outdoor Mom Journal using her prompts each month.  Share your journal with us on your own blog or on her blog in a comment.

  • The most inspiring thing we experienced was…
  • Our outdoor time made us ask (or wonder about)…
  • In the garden, we are planning/planting/harvesting….
  • I added nature journal pages about….
  • I am reading…
  • I am dreaming about…
  • A photo I would like to share…

Blessings, Nadene

4 thoughts on “Mom’s Nature Journal Parsley

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

