Mom’s Nature Journal Leaves

For my weekly nature journal time, I decided to focus on unusual leaves and I was inspired with these colorful plants ~

20170215_174012This week I took out my watercolor pencils.  With just my fine waterbrush and the watercolor pencils, I was able to create detailed, blended colors that suited my leaves perfectly.

20170224_162245Watercolor pencils have several wonderful advantages:

  • Fine pencil points allow for tiny, accurate details in your sketch.
  • You can blend pencil colors while dry on the paper, or you can blend perfectly using a blending pencil.
  • With water brush you can blend the colored areas on the paper just like watercolor paints.
  • You can wash over large areas with water once you lightly color over the area with pencils.
  • You can achieve a lovely transparency with watercolor pencils.
  • If you wet the pencil tip or draw over wet paper before drawing on it, you can achieve an intense, deep color.   A thick opaque look can be achieved by dipping the pencil tip in water and applying the color wet.
  • If you brush the tips of the watercolor pencils with a wet paintbrush, you can use your pencils just like a tiny paint pallet.  For bright bold colors, take the pigment directly from your pencil tip. Dip your brush in water and press to the tip of the pencil. This will give you undiluted pigment for strong colors.
  • You can make a paint pallet for your children:  Use sturdy cardstock and thickly color little blocks of each color.  You child needs a little water and a brush and can dab the colored block to lift off pigment to paint.
  • There is absolutely no mess or cleaning up.
  • These pencils last for ever!  Buy quality pencils and look after them and they will serve you for years!
  • Watercolor pencils are fabulous for outdoor painting.  They are easy to store and easy to handle.  I put an elastic band around them and hold the bunch of pencils in one hand and quickly dab the pencil tips with my waterbrush or grab the pencil I need to sketch or color my page.
  • Watercolor pencils dry quickly and can you can store them in a pencil bag straight away.

Join Barb’s  Outdoor Mom Journal using her prompts each month.  Share  your journal with us on your own blog or on her blog in a comment.

  • The most inspiring thing we experienced was…
  • Our outdoor time made us ask (or wonder about)…
  • In the garden, we are planning/planting/harvesting….
  • I added nature journal pages about….
  • I am reading…
  • I am dreaming about…
  • A photo I would like to share…

What inspires you in your nature journalling?

In Grace, Nadene
2 thoughts on “Mom’s Nature Journal Leaves

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

