Letter 8 – Friends

Here’s the next letter my series ~ “Letter To Mewhere I share the letters I wrote to myself, encouraging myself (and, hopefully other new homeschoolers)  with what I wish I had known when I started out on our homeschooling journey ~ 20141002_121458

Dear Nadene,

You will start out homeschooling all alone, having moved to a farm outside a new town.  You will feel very isolated and afraid.  You will need a good friend and your children will need friends.  Pray to find even just one like-hearted family to share this homeschool journey.   They do NOT need to be homeschoolers, or even use the same curriculum or approach, but they should share the same family values. 

Homeschool co-ops are great, but it is better to meet as families with dads included! (Remember Letter 6 Husband?)  It is important that their discipline and decisions reflect similar values as your family. 

When you are “swimming against the mainstream” in your spiritual walk and home life and educational choices, it is vital that your family is encouraged by others who are focussed and resolved to remain true to similar decisions and choices.  This connection is important so that you can pray with each other, share , encourage and sympathize with each other.  Pray to find a believing, practicing-their-faith family.

Trust the Lord to find good friends for all your children.  Each of your children will endure a season of loneliness.  It is hard to see them struggle alone, but God is faithful.  Don’t look for ways to rescue your children, but pray, trust and wait.  You will rejoice to see these prayers answered in meeting families with amazing children the “perfect  fit” for your family and your needy child. 

Lastly, practice grace as a friend.  Be gracious to others.  Share compassionately with others who also struggle and are afraid.  Don’t be afraid to be vulnerable and honest.  Be loyal and supportive.  Cover your friends with love.  Serve them.  You will be making the most valuable investment in your lives.

Blessings,

Nadene

I want to thank each  of my dear, faithful friends who have walked with me along this incredible journey.  My life is so much richer for you and your relationship.  I value and appreciate you dearly!

I’d love to hear your views and thoughts on this topic!  Please would you share yours in the comments.

In case you missed any of my previous “Letters To Me” in this series:

2 thoughts on “Letter 8 – Friends

  1. Dear Nadene,

    Greetings from the US! This letter arrived at just the right time. I found it very encouraging and consoling, to say the least. It does allay some of my fears.You are a good friend. May God bless you and your family.

    Christine

    Like

    • @Christine, thank you for your kind message of friendship across the ocean! It still amazes me that cyber-friendships are not only possible, but real! Blessings!

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

