Beautiful Face Tutorial Inspiration

For our general weekly art lessons, I love to discover a new contemporary artist each month.

Studying their art, techniques, mediums and their personal artistic approaches inspires us to create too!

This week we looked at Jane Davenport and her “Beautiful Faces”

We watched her video tutorial and came away utterly inspired!

Jane Davenport video

Jane uses a face stencil to create an outline and then created a double-spread art journal page using a picture collage that she incorporated into her lady’s hair.  She uses her own range of art markers and paint pens.    She demonstrates and explains several techniques which include pencils, paints, overlaying pencil, face proportions, making an eye “sparkle” and her journaling experiences.  She made it seem to easy and creative!

Here are our “Beautiful Faces”

Beautiful faces

Kate created her collage background with stuff from her stash of pressed flowers, pictures and a handwritten poem that she tore into bits. She was completely focused and motivated!

kate's Beautiful Face

Kate’s “Beautiful Face”

Lara started with a burnt paper and created a lady with flaming hair

Lara started her collage with a burnt paper and created a lady with flaming hair.  She really enjoyed creating all the flowing bright colors and layers in the hair.  Then she wrote out 2 poems that she felt expressed something of her painting.  A few splatters of paint and she was happy!

Lara's Beautiful Face

Lara’s “Beautiful Face”

I found a soap advert that inspired me.  I loved the purple color and the rose in her hair.  I layered old sewing pattern paper on my background.  I realized that the pattern paper spoke of my constant "measuring up" and trying too hard ... and it seemed perfectly natural to surrender to the Lord and find peace ...

I found a magazine picture that inspired me. I loved the purple color and the rose in the sleeping lady’s hair. I layered old sewing pattern paper on my background. I realized that the pattern paper spoke of my constant “measuring up” and trying too hard … and it seemed perfectly natural to surrender to the Lord and find peace …  wonderful how art speaks to our souls … I wrote in a scripture that come to mind and finished my painting with some lace.

Nad's "Beautiful Face"

Nad’s “Beautiful Face”

Despite living on an extremely remote farm, high up in the mountains, we are so grateful for our WiFi and our Internet connection to the world’s great artists and creative inspiration!

Why don’t you give this tutorial a try?

Blessings,

7 thoughts on “Beautiful Face Tutorial Inspiration

  1. WOW!! so inspiring! we also do “art” day with my 2, 4 and 6 year old girls and they love it! So looking forward to seeing them grow and finally do work like these one day😉 till then I must sit on my hands and enjoy every moment of stick figure drawings with them🙂
    I firmly believe to stay away from colour-in books and allow them to find their creativity by themselves and it is so good for them. What do you think?

    Like

    • @marzanne, I have encouraged my children to draw and paint from young. We have all our art supplies on hand and they learn how to work with good quality paints and brushes, etc. Young kids can enjoy experimenting and experiencing art mediums without having to produce an artistic ‘product’ at the end. These are the amazing years of enjoyment and complete artistic freedom!
      Some kids really enjoy coloring-in books. My mom taught me how to do shading with different shades of the same color wax crayons and colored in with me when I was little, and I was hooked! I let my kids practice using different mediums in coloring books if they want. There are some fantastic, quality coloring books featuring famous art works, flowers, and landscapes that an even an adult will find challenging. This is not “true art”, but does provide good art appreciation experiences! Enjoy!
      Do other readers want to share their views?

      Like

  2. Nadene, the beautiful face pics are indeed beautiful! What a wonderful process it must have been for all three of you. I can see how my daughter would thoroughly enjoy the process of creating something like this.

    In reply to the question posed about coloring books, I would say, if the child expresses an interest, use it. Let them color, paint, tear, do whatever to that book. It is their book. If very young, they need to understand that coloring books and reading books are different and are to be treated differently (you don’t tear pages out of the library book!!) However, let them explore, create, and use. I found with my children that though they had coloring books available and used while very young, they much preferred to have composition notebooks to draw and create in (the sturdy cover makes it easier to hold). Though the pages are lined, that didn’t stop them–they just drew over them. My son, now 11, loves to get small notebooks and draw while in the car, waiting at the doctor’s office, basically anywhere. He has a small pouch that carries his crayons, colored pencils, sharpener,and a few markers. He takes this just about everywhere. If we stop and have to wait–he’s drawing. He actually likes to use color books–but to use as templates to create his own pictures in his small notebooks. My daughter, also 11, prefers the larger notebooks (regular paper size). She has always preferred to draw her own pictures and notebooks allow her to do this. Find what works with your child to help them be creative. If that includes coloring books–use them. You might be amazed at what the finished product looks like and not even recognize that it started out as a coloring page. I know I’ve seen a few that I had to ask!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Alisa Burke Art Inspiration | Practical Pages

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

