Make Memories with Hands-on Activities

Revisiting earlier posts ~

Way back in 2009, when I re-used our Sonlight Core 1&2 World History with my youngest 2 kids, I ignored the time-frame suggested in the Sonlight schedule and followed it as a mere guideline.  Adding hands-on activities to our themes made homeschool come alive and filled our school day with fun!  

But, more importantly, it really helped my kids learn.  In fact, when I asked them what they remember of their studies, they mostly only remember the hands-on activities!

I am re-using Core 1&2 with my younger 2 girls and decided to relax, stretch the schedule and do hand-on activities when we could this year.

Buiilding castles

building castles

The girls have made models and built castles.  They have created interesting project pages.  They have dressed up and acted out scenes from read alouds.  They have cooked and baked and then ate foods from the country or era.  We have visited places and museums.

Dressing the part

Dressing the part

During school they have played online educational games and they have created interesting notebook pages.  We have made lapbooks for as many themes as we could find or create.

Mapping World War II

Mapping World War II

These activities have been the highlights!  I highly recommend that you allow more time to ‘flesh out’ the schedule!  How can one spend only 1 day covering Japan?  Or take just 2 days to enjoy the Knights and Castles?

Sonlight has offered me a great framework and I have enjoyed this approach SO much more than my first year of homeschooling tick-the-box-stick-to-the-schedule approach!

Life is the learning journey!

Especially while you are teaching your young children, even up to junior high, add and include hands-on activities!  Make time for it!  It is an investment in your children’s learning experience that will last!

Blessings,

8 thoughts on “Make Memories with Hands-on Activities

  1. Thank you so much for this reminder! I’m doing Sonlight’s Core E with my 5th and 6th graders, and I always feel behind. We DO add hands-on activities, recipes, music, crafty/art-ish projects, and notebooking pages. I’ve decided that these projects are more important than reading every single book in the core. So I’ve went through and cut out the books not related to history and cut a few books that have overload (like the Civil War has 4 books in the core to cover it, and I axed one). I love your blog and follow it, as well as use your printables. Thank you, Nadene!

    Like

  2. Pingback: How to Fit in Creative Hands-on Ideas | Practical Pages

  3. Pingback: New Year Preparations | Practical Pages

  4. Pingback: Letter 7 – Action! | Practical Pages

  5. Pingback: Letter 18 – Memories | Practical Pages

  6. Pingback: Practical Tip ~ Hands-on Activities | Practical Pages

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

