Sketch Tuesday ~ Kitchen Drawer

Sketch Tuesday is back!

This week’s theme is ~ Sketch something from your kitchen drawer.

Because we recently had such fun with wet-on-wet water paints, I suggested we experiment with water-color & salt on our paper to create an interesting background.  We taped our page on our boards, used big sponges to wet the entire page and then painted colors which we merged and blended together.

2-2014-09-14 Sketch Tuesday Kitchen Drawer1

For fun, I suggested that we sprinkle some salt here and there and create interesting patterns and texture.  (Salt placed on wet water paints “draws” some of the color onto the grain, creating tiny areas of intense color and areas of white around it.)

3-2014-09-14 Sketch Tuesday Kitchen Drawer2

Then I showed the girls some examples of contour drawing on Pinterest.  Contour drawing is basically drawing a continuous line without lifting your pencil and following the shapes and lines of the object without looking at your paper.  Scary for some, but I wanted the art to look loose and free.

1-2014-09-14 Sketch Tuesday Kitchen Drawer

Next, we painted the object.  Loose and free, with a little blending, drying and adding details.

Finally we outlined with black pen, adding details and shading.  (I must add that I had my “artistic crisis” when I realized that my contour drawing was completely wonky and my corkscrew was very skew!  I chatted to the girls to discuss how I could “fix” it.  We came up with some ideas, but in the end the only thing that felt “right” for me was to chop up my painting so that it clearly didn’t align perfectly.  I’m okay with my final art piece!)

Sketch Tuesday is the perfect place to try different techniques, art mediums or even copy the style of other artists.

See you at the slide show!

Blessings,

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

