Hard Homeschool Moments

Gosh, my last post “Love Homeschool” generated a flurry of comments and emails!

I’m so grateful that I have enough blog posts here on Practical Pages to ensure readers that I have my fair share of hard and heart-sore homeschool moments  … like “Stresses and struggles” and the challenge of teaching High School Maths … And while my previous post sounded like it’s all sunshine and roses, I am currently floundering and feel out of my depth.  And this is hard.

My middle child started with Cambridge education this year.  Previously, she and my eldest daughter used a textbook-based correspondence that I could quite confidently teach and facilitate.  But with this new curriculum, I am in need of a serious upgrade to help tutor her and we live too far from town to regularly attend tutor sessions.  I admit that I ‘dropped the ball’ on her homeschooling … and she “unschooled”, or should I say “non-schooled”, the first 6 months of this year.

Recently, we attended adviser sessions and we are still on track.  My daughter is 14-years-old and has 4 years to complete the Cambridge courses. They have a two-year exam sitting rule to qualify for university acceptance, so we have plenty of time to work through the course materials and prepare.  We have started lessons with a tutor and I can already see my child’s approach and confidence improve.

It has been my lack of confidence that has made this year tough, but we have made good progress and I feel that we will actually manage …  and a month from now it may not seem as hard as it seems right now.

So, to all you moms who are trying to figure it out, join the veteran homeschool club of moms still trying to figure it out.

Hard homeschooling keeps me humble and urges me to prayer.

Blessings for you in the hard times … this, too, shall come to pass.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Hard Homeschool Moments

    • @M.N.Stroh, thank you for your kind comment. It really helps to realize that there are so many others who battle and struggle too, and that our experiences equip us with compassion and empathy for others. Blessings!

      Like

  1. Aah, Nadene, blogs are like shop windows showing the best and we know that behind every blog is a real person and struggles. We found out 3 yrs of Cambridge very hard and we had a plethora of tutors to choose from. We also didnt start as early as you have. But my CIE grad learnt so many things about herself in that time and said she would do it again for those lessons. Xx

    Like

    • @wendytamaryoung, thanks for your ongoing understanding, my friend. It helps to know that I am not alone in my current phase of uncertainty and insecurity. I just hope that we can steer our way through this and reach our destination! Blessings!

      Like

  2. Thanks, Nadene! I love your blog and have felt like my firstborn sure pays for my inexperience (he’s in grade 12 this year and we are sending him to an “outreach centre” – he’s never been to school, but wants the credits, and what we’ve done just doesn’t work…). It made me take a deep breath to read your post today🙂

    Like

    • @Stephanie, we also chose a “means to an end” when we opted for a textbook-based curriculum to complete our eldest child’s high schooling. We realize that she did not receive a great education, but she learnt valuable life skills – preparing projects for external moderators, and learning for and writing exams under strict conditions! We look back and are grateful for the years of homeschool that were deep, rich and relational. In the end, I realize that I am the most blessed because I got to spend my life with my children, and theirs with me. Blessings as you complete this phase with your eldest child!

      Like

  3. I go through those ‘figuring it out’ moments ever so often. We have been homeschooling for many years and there are times I feel lost to be honest. This year has been one of those years that started on a all time high and I had high hopes, then it got turned on its head with moving house and finding it hard to get out mojo back. Even though I sometimes feel lost I still note my kids are making progress, so I guess i must be doing something right somewhere.
    Blessings to you😉

    Like

    • @Maryna Moolman, thank you so much for sharing your experiences. I trust that you all find your new fit after such a huge disruption and blessings to you and your family!

      Like

  4. Nadene, you are an amazing lady!!! I love your website and your ideas. People like you are very inspiring to others. I love the idea of home schooling, but I don’t have the courage and gumption (like you) to give it a go! I can imagine your children being very grateful to you later on for taking such an active role in their education, personal development / Christian values; which seem to be under attack in todays world. Kudos to you!

    Like

  5. It’s funny how we as moms tend to try to keep things even. We all have bad days and good days, seeing the good ones helps us get through the bad ones. *smile* Your snuggle shots encouraged me to keep the snuggle time with our two growing blessings. They are now nine and seven and we enjoy story time every evening as part of our night time rutine. *smile* I have decided to make my blog, the purpose of blogging for me that is, is to focus on the cherries and to let the pits go. *smile* It helps me count my blessings and I really like doing that as some days are pretty tough. *small smile* Thank you for sharing both sides with all of us. *smile* Have a great day. Sincerely, Mommy of two growing blessings & so much more!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

