Sketch Tuesday ~ Coffee Mug

Barb gave us this week’s theme ~

Coffee Mug

It’s our Fine Arts Friday – our favorite day of the week!

Grab a cup of coffee and join us …

Smell the fresh coffee beans lying on my tray … my coffee mug still-life waiting to be sketched …http://bks0.books.google.co.za/books?id=PLIZACP5-NwC&printsec=frontcover&img=1&zoom=1&imgtk=AFLRE718GsPcBzgd3YzmCMQ_-NiNtylcIQcXOcL89CXLhx6oeOBRF5pT_LnQwDKJR09penrzUKk_jYp2Bs9ZzrbsgSk55z6bJ8cdA8HNoLbng7Ud_lSU8ltyse-GWxrWiApI3rfm3iFi

I am reading the story of Michelangelo by Diane Stanley aloud.

Even my 13-year-old high schooler stops working on her physical science lesson, and listens …

Then I play The Story of Chopin in Words and Music by VOX Music https://i2.wp.com/www.adoremusbooks.com/productimageslarge/70/70062.jpgMasters and we all listen to Chopin’s biography and the music of this famous composer fills our room …

and we all sketch …

Miss.L10 sketched her mug and used water-color pencils and colored her sketch.

coffee mug 001

Miss.K13, pencilled this sketch.  coffe mug 001She was very casual about spending Fine Arts time with us.

I love Charlotte Mason’s approach in our homeschooling, and even though both my high schoolers have “opted out” of our fine arts and nature study, I sense that because they are immersed in a rich atmosphere of classical music and fine arts, they appreciate it … even if it is expressed casually … like today!

I penned my sketch, adding details as the Chopin CD draws to the end.coffee mug 002

Ah … coffee, great art, beautiful classical music … and sketching.

What a wonderful Friday!

See you at the slide show!

Blessings,

One thought on “Sketch Tuesday ~ Coffee Mug

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

