Sketch Tuesday ~ Stew O’Keeffe Style

I love Georgia O’Keeffe’s art!

She paints things BIG.

It can’t fit the canvas.

Looks like abstract art.

Brooklyn Museum - Blue 1 - Georgia O'Keeffe

Sketch Tuesday has been a very easy way to learn about new artists or styles and try them out.  Remember our Georgia O’Keeffe’s flowers and Danny Gregory’s USA sketches?

With this week’s theme “Sketch Something You Put In A Stew”,  my kids were not inspired.

“I don’t want to draw food,” my middle-schooler told me.

But my brain was tickled.

I was inspired.

I took the veggies, a chopping board and knife and sliced things in different ways.  We noticed patterns of seeds, swirls, centres, colours, rings, radial lines … not just food. (Although we did start nibbling on some carrots and green beans.)

Then we looked at Georgia O’Keeffe’s art and marveled how she made macro studies of her objects.  I found this fantastic Power Point presentation of her works.

We all started to sketch.  My 12-year-old did a baby gem squash in soft pencils and did a marvellous sketch.

My 9-year-old and I took waterproof ink and nib pens to draw ours and painted over the sketch.

Lovely inspired art.

You can still join Barb‘s  Sketch Tuesday this week as she will only post the sketches for next week!

Happy sketching!

Blessings,

6 thoughts on “Sketch Tuesday ~ Stew O’Keeffe Style

  1. Nadine
    These are lovely. My kids, as well, were not instantly excited by this particular theme and I love how you took this very basic idea to such a beautiful place. I’m going to remember this post the next time we get stuck.
    Your blog always inspires..

    Like

  2. I’m trying to search your blog for a James lapbook, but you don’t have a search box. Sorry to post this here, but I wanted to see if I could find it. I love your blog. This is my 7th year homeschooling and I learn something new every year. Thanks for all the great tips!

    Like

    • @MB, please pop over to my Bible Pages for the lapbook. Thanks for pointing out that my search box was gone! I’ve put it back!🙂 I love learning new stuff all the way along our homeschool journey – it’s what makes it so exciting for me!

      Like

  3. Pingback: My O’Keeffe Skull & Roses | Practical Pages

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

