Sketch Tuesday ~ Something Spicy!

What a great topic!

This week’s assignment due Monday, May 23, 2011: 

Sketch a spice or a spice jar.

We took out our spices and I undid my rope bags of spices with cinnamon sticks, peppercorns, whole cloves and bay leaves, and chillies.  I have dried chillies all wrinkled on their string, and fresh picked chillies on the windowsill drying.  These whole spices were more appealing to sketch and paint than the spice bottles.

I asked the girls to paint their pictures this week.  It is good to practice painting often.  I think that when they use felt-tipped pens they enjoy the quick colourful results, but we have found our pictures discolour in time.

Here are our paintings for this week:

Miss L9's spices

Miss. K11's chillies in acrylics

Miss K11 took out the acrylic paints and worked confidently on her own and mixed the colours and highlights entirely without my advice or help.  I was stunned with the results, and even more excited by her own pleasure in her work!

Spices by Nadene

“All sketchers are welcome and there is no need to sign up. Send in your sketches in jpg format and mail them to: sketchtuesday@yahoo.com by Monday, May 23, 2011 and I will include them in Tuesday’s slideshow. Complete instructions are found by clicking the Sketch Tuesday tab at the top of my blog.”

Barb-Harmony Art Mom

See you at the slideshow!

Blessings,

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

