Notice Board – Bible Verse

In my previous posts featuring our new homeschool notice board I shared details on our clipboards with Current Affairs and Nature Study.
20140220_164913.jpg (2244×3937)

Today I would like to share a bit more about our ~

Bible Verses

20140220_165148

For many years we used the Simply Charlotte Mason memory verses card system. You can download memory verse cards that I have created ~ Free Pages – Bible

But this year, focusing on my youngest visual-learner, I trusted the Lord for a fresh way to present her memory verses.

Faithfully the Lord led me to Ann Voskamp of A Holy Experience who has started “The Jesus Project” and she says,

“Scripture Memorization for the Rest of Us: The Jesus Project. We’d memorize the Soul Sustaining Words of Jesus. From the Gospel of John.

We’d start with just 24 verses (or you could choose just 12 of the 24) — all that would be rendered artistically, to make us see Beautiful in the Words of God. It would sort of be like this —  ”More Than Useful: He is Beautiful” Memory Prints… 24 verses that would chronologically unpack across the Gospel of John. We’ll memorize at least one verse from every chapter in the Gospel of John. Sometimes several verses from each chapter.”

In her amazing style, Ann created visually representative fonts, color and layout prints of each verse that emphasizes the scripture’s meaning. They are meant to be displayed.

I downloaded the large display format for our notice board and the small display for my child. I punched a hole in the corner of each verse and used a small plastic ring to keep them together. I have encouraged my child to review the memory verses daily – either on the notice board or in her file.

(Scroll down to the bottom of Ann’s post for the pdf file downloads.)

This year my youngest daughter asked me to re-use the Picture Smart Bible Homeschool Bible Curriculum program from www.bibledraw.com, focusing on the Old Testament.  (You can see my previous posts about our first experiences with this fantastic program here.)

Bible

May I quickly explain the Picture This! program ~

The lessons essentially form a single-page overview illustration of an entire book of the Bible.  Children draw, color in and label over a very light outline of the picture, as the lesson progresses.  The master copy and teacher’s notes are broken into sections with accompanying thumbnail illustrations and they have excellent cross-references, additional notes and wonderful life-application discussion suggestions.  They have linked each book of the Bible to reveal Christ which appear as a “star-burst” on each page. The kids love to draw and color as I read, and I love the pace of the lessons; slow yet detailed, full and flexible. When the page is completed, each child has a unique full-color page with a powerful, visual, symbolic summary of the book.

When I planned this year’s eclectic curriculum for my youngest daughter, I prayed and sought the Lord, then looked for suitable programs, themes or ideas.  I jotted some of these down and when I asked her what she  would like to study, she suggested the Picture This! OT program.  I asked her if she would like to memorize the Jesus Project memory verses with me this year.

Two seemingly separate approaches to our Bible Study lessons, but the Holy Spirit has marvelously joined them together in ways that bring tears to my eyes!  I call these moments “silver threads” where verses confirm and repeat, where His message is connected across the Old Testament and the New.

Here are two examples that blessed my heart and reassured me of the Lord’s intimate presence and provision in our homeschooling ~

When we started our Bible lesson the first week, we used our new memory verse prints and learnt  John 1:1 “In the beginning was the Word …” and our first Picture This! lesson introduced the Bible as the miraculous living Word of God!

The next week, when I introduced our 2nd memory verse; “The Light shines in the darkness …”, we found the same message in our Picture This! lesson where it shows the Bible as the “light to our path and lamp to our feet” (Psalm 119:105). What amazed me was that we had stopped randomly in the previous Picture This! lesson and yet when we continued the next week, the Lord highlighted, connected and confirmed His Word across both Old and New Testaments.

I pray and trust that these precious memory verses and Bible lessons are faithfully written on my children’s hearts and minds so that the Holy Spirit can use His divine words to “light their way.”

May you be encouraged to see the divine hand of the Lord leading and guiding you in your homeschooling.

Blessings and much grace,

4 thoughts on “Notice Board – Bible Verse

  1. We are currently working with the books Learning the Word through Life, which is the books before you use Picture Bible. It is basic scripture memorization also with pictures. My children absolutely love using those books. I teach them the scriptures in Afrikaans. After we have completed these we then will be moving over to Picture Bible.

    • @Maryna Moolman, I’m delighted that you have found something that your children “absolutely love”! I’m sure other readers would also like to know more about the books you are using. Could you perhaps give us the website/publisher details? Thanks, Blessings!

  2. Pingback: Notice Board – Famous Artists & Composer | Practical Pages

  3. Pingback: Notice Board – Latin Words | Practical Pages

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

