Mushrooms

Our Outdoor Hour Challenge this month features Moss, Lichens and Mushrooms

and this week we’d like to share our study on

Mushrooms

Fungi Finds

As with our moss and lichen nature studies, Miss.L captured her mushroom nature study finds on our camera.

She went off on her own and made me guess where she found the mushrooms!  I could identify the tiny white mushrooms as those that grow on an old tree stump in my veggie garden, and the slender stemmed white mushrooms that grow on the cow manure pile, but I was unsure about the brown mushroom … off to the field guide!

Which reminds me of our family’s first search through the mushroom field guide ~

Our first experience of eating our own wild mushrooms was when our neighbor visited us and brought us a handful of white mushrooms that he picked on his walk through our veld, which were delicious!

I’kowe (Termitomyces umkowaani) also known as Beefsteak Mushrooms

We have several kinds of edible mushrooms that grow on our grazing lands. Some are massive and can reach sizes over 30cm in diameter!

We are “fungi novices” and even though our field guide is very specific, it can be hard to differentiate between the edible and poisonous mushrooms!

After lengthy, detailed comparisons between our SASOL First Field Guide to Mushrooms of Southern Africa photos and physical descriptions, and careful examinations of our huge mushroom, we cut a section off and fried it in some butter and garlic.  We (only my hubby and I) ate a tiny helping.  It was delicious!  We waited for a while and then went to bed. We survived!  The next night we fried up the rest!  It was so large that we froze some.

Mushrooms can look very similar!

Field Mushroom (Agaricus campestris) edible raw or cooked ~ your basic “button mushroom”

kaminski_agaricus_arvensis_02.jpg (725×434)

Horse Mushroom (Agaricus arvensis)

and the infamous Death Cap mushroom ~

234px-Amanita_phalloides_1.JPG (234×312)

Death Cap (Amanita phalloides) accounts for 90% of all mushroom fatalities worldwide!

I suppose nothing motivates one more to accurately identify a mushroom than when faced with eating a potentially deadly fungi!

This week we did not have to eat any samples, but we did enjoy photographing the variety on our farm.

Join us for your OHC discoveries!

Blessings,

Sharing this post in the Outdoor Hour Challenge Carnival.  Submit yours here.

6 thoughts on “Mushrooms

  1. Wonderful collection of fungi images! Another great job on making a collage/collection. I am always way to nervous to try to identify mushrooms as edible or not. I know we have some we can eat in our area but I guess I am a big chicken and don’t even try. I buy my mushrooms at the grocery store and just enjoy them that way. So much to learn! Thanks for sharing your entry with the OHC Carnival.

  2. I have to agree, I’ll rather stick to taking photos of the mushrooms growing on our property, and leave the taste testing to those I buy (safely) from the shop.
    May I please jump to another topic. At the bottom of your posts are a “share” and a “like this” bar. How did you add this? I could really do with some help.

    • @Elize, I also prefer shop-bought mushrooms! For the sharing buttons, go to “Settings” and click on “Sharing” and under “Publicize” you will find the “Sharing Buttons” and just click and drag the sharing buttons to the box – either shown or hidden behind a sharing button. Select the way you want the sharing icons to show. Hope this helps. Blessings!

      • My son saw your photos of mushrooms, fungi, lichen, and excitedly pointed out a couple that are in our garden as well. So I am going to have to do something similar one of these days: go on a garden tour and identify mushrooms.
        Thanks for your help with the buttons. I was stuck on widgets.

  3. Pingback: Sketch Tuesday ~ Mushrooms | Practical Pages

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

