Learning Phonics the ABACARD® Way!

When I started homeschooling over 12 years ago, I used ABACARD® to teach phonics and early reading.

This system, created by © Shirley Epstein and other teachers and artists,  have designed picture clues within each letter shape.  This concept assists memory of the shape and sound of each letter.

“It works because the clue is contained in  the letter shape!”

When my young children showed signs of reading readiness, I put the wall chart up on near their beds.

I simply pointed to and read each letter sound and named the picture inside it, such as: “a is for apple“, “b is for ball”  and “c is for colours“.    Then they repeated the sounds and named the picture clue inside each letter.

Each day I revised the previous letters and continued with the next set.  Within 3 days or so, we had covered the alphabet.  At each bedtime and nap-time we would run through the chart.

I was delighted to hear my young 4-year-old reading the chart aloud on her own to herself as she lay down for her midday nap after just a few days!

Then I took out our ABACARD® cards.

They come in a nifty hanging plastic holder with clear plastic pockets containing packs of 4 of each letter.  My kids loved the colourful jellytot sweets design on the back of these cards.

We revised the letters and then played games several fun games like “snap”, “memory” and “twin and win”.  The pack comes with a lovely instruction booklet.

Then we started building words with the cards. Taking just the letters p, t, b, g, and the vowels a, e, i, o and u we made the word bag. We swapped a and made beg, then big and bog and bug. Using this principle we made up lots of words – my child WAS READING!

When we moved on to early readers, we used these cards to make up the new vocabulary and played games until these new words were easy to read.

ABACARD® is an excellent tool for remedial work too.  Because each letter has a picture inside it, children are less likely to confuse letters!

I highly recommend this to anyone with young children who are ready to learn to read.

When I contacted the company, I was given the following email address and contact telephone numbers:

abacard@telkomsa.net

(South Africa) 011 642 9828

Contact them to ask for a catalog and order through them.

(I have no idea of their current prices or mailing costs and I am not affiliated to them or their products. :)  )

Blessings,

3 thoughts on “Learning Phonics the ABACARD® Way!

  1. Hi lady i also have a 3 year old girly and will definitely give it a try. I will contact the company tomorrow and will let you know about Tash-mia’s results as soon as i have it. I am from Namibia and hope that they can send me the abacard set as soon as possible. Nicolene Dreyr from Walvis Bay Namibia

    • @jennifer, I can’t contact anyone from the original company. I emailed them, but have had no reply or response. Pity. So many readers would also like to obtain their product!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

